News & Events

Stay Up-to-Date with the Latest Company and Industry News

ATA Engineering Wins Top NASA Quality Award

ATA Engineering selected as winner of NASA’s George M. Low award recognizing technical and business excellence

SAN DIEGO, Calif., Jun. 26, 2013 – ATA Engineering has recently been named the winner of the 2012 George M. Low award, NASA’s premier quality and performance award recognizing contractors that share the space agency’s commitment to technical and managerial excellence.

As the Jet Propulsion Laboratory’s small business services nominee, ATA Engineering was evaluated against other top NASA contractors competing for the prestigious award. ATA Engineering’s work supporting the Mars Science Lab (Curiosity) and other major NASA programs was considered in a stringent evaluation of ATA Engineering’s technical performance, business practices, teamwork, innovation, and leadership, and the final selection was made following a visit by NASA officials to ATA Engineering’s headquarters in San Diego.

The award, named after former NASA deputy administrator and quality leader George M. Low, was officially given to ATA Engineering by NASA Administrator Charles Bolden. Among the traits singled out as award-worthy were ATA Engineering’s ability to solve difficult problems such as those involved in the design of Curiosity’s sampling system and its dedication to a team-focused workplace and small-business contracting.

“We are honored to be recognized for being part of the very successful NASA team,” Dr. Mary Baker, president of ATA Engineering, responded. “Our relationship with NASA is of the highest importance to us, and we look forward to many more years of providing top-quality service and innovation to help meet NASA’s ever-advancing mission.”

ATA Engineering is widely recognized in the aerospace community as a leading provider of advanced design, testing, and analysis services, having been selected for JPL’s Small Business Subcontractor of the Year and Thomas H. May Legacy of Excellence awards, as well as various other NASA awards recognizing group efforts on programs such as Ares I-X and MLAS.